cowbell

Anyone know where I can get a cowbell? Seriously; I’m in the market for one.

This past Saturday, I took my girls to the 16th Annual Hare Racer mountain bike race at Heritage Park. I’ve known about this event since moving to Adrian, but this is the first opportunity I’ve had to attend. I’m so glad I did. It was awesome, and my girls had a fantastic time, watching all that was happening and cheering on the racers.

The adults raced at 9:30a. Their route consisted of two 5.8-mile circuits. I can’t seem to locate the results anywhere online, but the winner finished in just under an hour.

The adult race was then followed by a series of kids races in different age brackets. Unfortunately, I was only able to hang around for the first two events, ages 3-4 and ages 5-6, both of which rode on paved surfaces. The older age groups, however, took to the woods.

It was so great seeing so many people tearing it up on their bikes. But I think I enjoyed even more being amid all the pre- and post-race activity around the parking lot. There was a nice cross-section of folks from the local cycling community on hand, and it was really cool just to be taking in some local bike culture vibe.

This event is sponsored in part by the Michigan Mountain Biking Association (MMBA). Click here to check out a chest-cam video from last year’s race.

9 responses to “cowbell

  1. You get the winner’s name?

  2. No, unfortunately, I didn’t. But it was the guy in the orange jersey in the second picture above. The guy in the green jersey (of Mom and Pop Racing) took second, and his wife or girlfriend in the fourth picture came in third.

  3. try TSC on 223 for a cowbell

  4. Yup, tractor supply has them, or most farm type stores.

  5. I find it interesting that of all your recent blog entries you get the most reader comments on “Cowbell”, I guess your readers are telling you that they just need more “Cowbell”