Signing Off

I’m at home today, making preparations to leave Saturday for the 2011 GOBA Tour. All my gear is strewn about the living room, and I’ll soon be turning my attention to the bike itself, which is in need of a good cleaning and a tune-up. I won’t be posting while I’m away, which is to say that things won’t be much different, since I do a pretty lame job of posting as it is. Nevertheless, there will be pictures-a-plenty upon my return.

I hope you all have a good week, and spend a good many hours of it on your bicycles. Hopefully, I’ll see a bunch of you at the Hospice Ride on Sunday, June 26.

Before I go, I meant all week to post a report on last week’s Tour de Cure event. Unfortunately, I never got around to it. But, if you’re interested, here’s  an article about it in the Brighton Patch that you can read. The picture below and on my blog’s home page were shamelessly stolen from the Patch’s website.

It was a terrific ride. The weather could not have been better if we had custom ordered it. I had an obligation the night before, which prevented me from going up early. So I was on the road at 4:30a, wondering if I was going to have sufficient energy to complete the route. As luck would have it, I rode 108 miles, and struggled less than I had the week prior when I rode 74 miles.

John and Amy both rode 65 miles, and Hannah logged 25 miles. Regrettably, we all rode our respective routes more or less individually. I sincerely hope that I can do a better job next year of assembling a larger and more cohesive team so that everyone rides their entire route with at least one other person. It makes such an unbelievable difference.

All right, that’s it for me. You all take care. Ride safe. And don’t be shy about sending in some pictures of your various two-wheeled adventures over the next ten days for me to post on the blog.

PS: ‘Hadrian on a Bicycle’ is hanging on by the skin of its crooked yellow teeth in the Circle of Moms Top 25 Biking Families contest. Voting closes on June 28, and I’m counting on you, both of my faithful readers, to keep us in the running. Don’t forget to vote!

One response to “Signing Off

  1. I think you have more than 2 faithful readers, and voters to boot!
    Enjoy your week pedaling across Ohio. I’m looking forward to hearing about it when you return, and to the awesome pics you post!