See You in the Funny Pages

Check it out: Re-Bicycle Lenawee is featured in The Telegram.

Meanwhile, the Maple Wheelers enjoyed a fantastic ride last night. Those who didn’t make it definitely missed out. Despite high winds, 14 or so riders showed up. There were a lot of faces I hadn’t seen in a while (for better or worse — ha ha), as well as a new one that I hope will continue to join us. I regret deciding to leave my camera at home. We’re such a sexy-looking bunch when we get together. It’s a pity not to faithfully chronicle that for posterity (or posteriority, as the case may be).

The highlight of the evening (I think — it’s so difficult to select just one) was the three-mile stretch on Horton Road, from Crockett to Berkey. Kirk, Bart, and I capitalized on the tailwind, settled into a paceline, and opened it up. We managed to hold 25-27 m.p.h. for the duration. That was wicked fun.

It looks like we’re in for a terrific season. The next group ride will roll out of Onsted Middle School at 6p on Monday. Come on out and give it a go. I won’t be able to make it, so I hope someone will send me some pictures for the website.

 

7 responses to “See You in the Funny Pages

  1. In mapmyride you can choose “export route” as a KML file. Link in blue below your map summary. Then you can overlay onto a Google Map. See http://www.askdavetaylor.com/how_to_import_xml_kml_data_file_google_maps.html Here’s an example I just made: http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?hl=en&ie=UTF8&msa=0&ll=41.75902,-84.188232&spn=0.649475,1.454315&z=10&msid=210635220446404605528.0004a4d003a54763a8d57

    • Nice! I especially like the highlighted points of interested: Huratee Headquarters and the Lenawee County Schwinn Museum. Ha ha. Thanks, Dave. (Incidentally, if you’re looking for something to do with all your free time and you feel so inclined, you’re welcome to mash up all the routes you like from Map My Ride and send me the Google Maps links.)

    • Sure, no problem. If you have routes in mapmyride it only takes a minute to spit out the google maps version.