Chow

While I suspect most of you couldn’t possibly care less about my eating habits, even if you tried really hard to do so, today I’m posting a note about nutrition and keeping things simple.

I rarely even bother to read the articles devoted to matters of diet and nutrition vis-a-vis various cycling habits, styles, goals, etc. that appear in every issue of Bicycling magazine. Moreover, part of the attraction I have to cycling is the freedom it affords me to eat just about whatever I want, so long as I’m riding regularly, because I can always count on burning off the calories. However, I do put a little bit of thought into what I eat before, during, and after more substantive rides, because it clearly makes a difference in how I feel and in the overall quality of the ride experience.

This morning, I got out for a little over 40 miles. (Click here if you’re interested in seeing the route. There’s a roughly one-mile stretch on Sharp Road that’s unpaved, but not only were the surface conditions as good or better than any number of commonly traveled, “paved” roads in Lenawee County — take Laberdee for example — it’s also a terrific location to “see a man about a horse,” if you take my meaning, at the side of the road.) For breakfast, just before leaving for the ride, I ate a healthy-sized bowl of multi-grain Cheerios with banana. During the ride, about 20 or 25 miles in, I paused for a Nature Value granola bar. Upon arriving home, I hate a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. For hydration, I drank a 20oz. bottle of water over the first half of the ride, and another 20oz. bottle of Gatorade over the second half. I feel fantastic.

Anyone else have a ride-friendly meal plan or snack tips they like to share with the group?

So who’s planning to ride the inaugural Tour de Tecumseh in support of the Community Arts of Tecumseh on Sunday morning? Hope to see you there.

5 responses to “Chow

  1. This kid had two turkey sandwiches, a couple of glasses of milk, some doritos and a couple of chocolate chip cookies before his 28 miler today. On the ride was just my normal bottle of water, with a couple of “old man” stops along the way. When I got back, I had some grape juice. Not feeling worn out at all. In fact, I think I”m going to go for another short jaunt.

    • “Kid” puts things clearly in context. Alas, things change. Meanwhile, though, don’t get me wrong; I definitely have no trouble holding my own at Highland Inn on our monthly Taco Ride.

  2. bicyclegirl

    Scott, what you ate sounds just perfect. For a quick snack while riding, I recommend the “gels” bike shops sell. They have the right nutrition, give you a bit of an energy boost, and some taste good. While they may only last an hour before getting hungry again, it’s a great thing not to have to get off your bike to eat. Grab one of your rear pocket, open the gel’s packet by your teeth, then suck the gel out. Not the most ladylike way to eat, but on a long ride, who cares?!

  3. My Doctor told me that if it tastes good, spit it out, it isn’t good for me…

    Stupid Doctors!