how well do you know your local bike path?

Today is a glorious March day in Rhode Island – 56 degrees and while not sunny, it feels so warm compared to our usual weather.  I could not wait to get on my bike and cycle the East Bay bike path.

This particular path is the most well know in RI, as it was the first on constructed and the longest, at 14.5 miles. It runs through several cities and towns, and about 50% of it offers some really beautiful water views. We are fortunate to have such a great path, especially one that takes you through some state parks.

I have been on this path countless times, but was quite surprised today. Nothing about the path itself has changed – except for the views. Without leaves on the trees, I could see many things never discovered before: tiny beaches, small state parks, buildings and boat harbors. These sights made me go off the beaten path, if you pardon the pun. I enjoyed meandering through the boat yards and the parks. The last discovery was a cool waterfront restaurant serving fresh seafood. I will surely check out that place – being someone who loves eating out, I was amazed to discover a restaurant so close to home but  unknown to me.

Today made me realize I’ve never ridden the path in cooler weather. It is motivating me more than ever before to discover what else is out there.
Readers – what about you? What have you seen on your winter jaunts lately?

7 responses to “how well do you know your local bike path?

  1. Oh you’re such a cruel tease BikeGirl!
    I have puttered around the hood a little when the snow is thin enough, and sure one could ride some miles with the right amount of dedication, but cycle cross is a bit to hardcore for me. I am looking forward to riding soon with luck and warmer days…

  2. Bike paths rock. No doubt about it. Ours isn’t much to brag about, but I love it. When I first began riding, I cut my teeth (and found my legs) on an unbelievable bike path network in southwest Ohio.

    How about some pictures?

  3. My latest “winter” ride was last week, when my son and I rode 25 miles round trip on A1A from Pompano Beach to Boca Raton FL and back. It’s not a bike path, but it might as well be. There are wide bike lanes on both sides and hundreds of cyclists using them every day. Man, it was rough! 80 degrees and a 5 mph wind. Our rented bikes were junk (cheap Gary Fisher mountain bike for me, no name BMX for him) but no big deal. We ate pancakes on a pier and visited this cool seat turtle rescue facility. We also got an eyeful of the latest cycling fashions and many fancy road bikes as they passed us up, haha.

  4. It’s nice today and we all should be out there, but….

    Speaking of bike paths, I met with Mark Gasche and Justin Combo at city hall last Friday. Mark is the Director of Parks and Recreation and Justin is the Superintendent of Parks and Forestry. They are responsible for maintaining the trail.

    We are in discussion about starting a Friends of the Kiwanis Trail and planning a trail work day. The work day has a tentative date of Friday, March 25th. The City of Adrian park employees would work with volunteers to clear some of the debris left by the recent storms.

    Any input?

  5. I have a love/dislike relationship with our bike path. I love that it’s in relatively good condition, good length, maintained well (actually PAVED, unlike some I’ve been on- makes it for heck on a road bike when it’s large gravel) the scenery is great (cricks, bridges and trees) and is for non-powered vehicles only. What I dislike about it is that it ends in the middle of an intersection no where near tecumseh (due to the owner of the area north of it from what I am told) and how rough it gets the further north you get, but it’s two small dislikes.

    I enjoy the trail and wish there were more in Len. County linking more cities and neighborhoods. The new bridge going in at the south end is a step in the right direction.

    I can’t wait to ride the one in Petoskey that Burt told me about last summer.

    • I agree about the K-trail ending at Ives and Green near Tecumseh. I recently was appointed to the Raisin Twp Parks and Recreation Board, which has influence over extending the trial to Tecumseh. We are planning to add a trail extension to Cal Zorn and Mitchell parks in the Twp five year plan.

      Longer term, I see the Kiwanis Trail becoming the backbone of a “border to border” Lenawee county non-motorized trial system. Washtenaw county is a great example of a B2B in progress. Once the backbone B2B trail is in place, we start connecting to it from schools, parks, points of interest, neighborhoods and the like.

      I road the trail system in the Tampa / St. Petersburg in January. Awesome! The trail serves as a backbone non-motorized access for the cities and it is great.

      Ya with me?