Ohio City Bicycle Co-op

The following is from Jim Manley:

Last Saturday I visited Ohio City Bicycle Co-op in Cleveland.  Except for the blizzard driving conditions, it was a great afternoon.  Check out the website for more information. I had two goals for my Trek (pun) to Cleveland.  First, I wanted to see how a larger operation did things and compare it to Re-Bicycle Lenawee.  Second, I wanted to check out the Basic Repair class they offer each month.

The facility was great, and the people were even better!  Jim Sheehan, the OCBC Director greeted me warmly and gave me the nickel tour of the facility.  He introduced me to several volunteers and staff, including Lee Reis the Volunteer Coordinator.

OCBC is what RBL can become as we grow.  It’s taken them ten years to achieve their current status, but they are more than willing to share knowledge and experience with us so we can accelerate our own learning curve.  Their website is a regular “how to” for growing a bicycle co-operative.  I will be sharing what I learned with the RBL advisory board and volunteers.

Based on my fact finding mission, I paid to take the four part Repair Class in March. I will be driving to Cleveland each Saturday afternoon for hands on instruction.  I am hoping others will see this post and be interested in taking the same class with me. Again, the OCBC website has all the details.  I hope to graduate in April and start up the same program in Lenawee County this year.

Anybody interested?  Contact me!

Comments are closed.