bike work

A week ago yesterday, the Re-Bicycle Lenawee program and Adrian Bicycle Co-op kicked off in earnest with a bike drive sponsored by the United Way Day of Action. We received and triaged approximately 250 bicycles over the course of roughly eight hours. A fantastic bunch of volunteers helped sort, tag, strip, and organize bikes as they rolled (and, in some cases, hobbled) into the shop. Others dressed up the building and grounds a bit. Amidst all the bikes that came in, we also received parts, tools, work benches, and other items for the shop.

What was perhaps best of all was that volunteers had numerous opportunities to interact with people in the neighborhood who will soon be the recipients of these bikes, and who will share space in the shop learning how to maintain their new rides. Moreover, in talking with many of the folks who helped out, both during and after the event, I detected a clear sense of buy-in, a spirit of community, and even a bit of inspiration, as various folks eagerly asked when they could return to help work on bikes, and others considered whether they might have more shop equipment and supplies to donate or lend, and others inquired as to when they might be able to apply for a bike of their own.

This is going to be a really awesome thing…

A couple of us even made the newspaper. Needless to say, we have our work cut out for us. But I sure am looking forward to all the wrenching this winter, and I can’t wait to see these bikes spinning around town come spring.

Enjoy the slideshow. I’ll continue to post updates on shop hours, items needed and available, opportunities to lend a hand, and all the rest. I hope you’ll drop by and see us some time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 responses to “bike work

  1. I’m still waiting for an answer on how much it would take to get the nice white Fuji bike I saw in the shop when I visited…….

    Is there any set hours or a plan for hours yet? I’d like to try to fit it into my schedule sometime and help out when I can.

    • These are good questions, Daniel.

      Unfortunately, while I have the same questions myself, it’s the answers I lack. I’m heavily involved in conversations concerning these matters, but final decisions don’t lie with me, at least not at this stage.

      In any event, hours and volunteer work opportunities are likely to be the first issues addressed. From there will follow, I suspect, conversations about price structures and what sort of options are available for generating some funds to support the program, which would likely include the sale of bikes too nice to be given away.

      Stay tuned, and by all means feel free to pitch any ideas or suggestions you have. Lots of folks involved with this project are monitoring the things said on this blog, so it offers guys like you a great way to be heard.

  2. Daniel , are you talking about the one that was scrapped out ? : > ( uh oh !!!!!

  3. Oh man, is my bald spot really that bad!

  4. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA that’s funny.

  5. I realized that perhaps we should do some research about what others who have done things like the Re-Bicycle have learned. Having advice on what worked or didn’t work for others may help us in our own operations. In speaking with Jim Manley on a recent ride got me thinking: is there an upcoming meeting where we could all brain-storm?

    • We will have a Operations Team meeting just after our Re-Bicycle Lenawee board meeting next week. I am VERY anxious to get everything going, but we need to follow a process as a non-profit umbrella organization. Just a note, I did spend a fair amount of time researching and visiting several operations that are similar to our vision for Re-Bicycle Lenawee. I want to share those tips, tricks, and traps with the Board members and the enthusiastic supporters. If you have any questions, hit me up!

    • Good work Jim, as I am a firm believer in making decisions on all available facts. Even if it takes longer or is more hassle, I feel that it’s best to do things the right way from the start. Things such as insurance along with countless other important details cannot be over looked. I’m just glad that there are people here that seem to be up to the task as I’m lost when it comes to that stuff!

  6. When are the powers that be going to get this thing started? It seems like a useful idea but more so in the summer which has come and gone since this whole thing first started.

  7. That, my friend, is the million dollar question. You’re not the only one asking it either. Frustration is growing while momentum and excitement are waning. From what I can tell, there isn’t even much clarity as to who “the powers that be” are, i.e., decisions aren’t being made because there’s no one clearly designated to make them. We appear to be suffering from dissertation syndrome. We’re so worried about doing everything just RIGHT, that we aren’t WRITING. You’ve got to start somewhere. You’ve got to get something on the page, so to speak, and then revise as necessary later.

    The delay is risking more than momentum. The owner of the building offered it us for a six months. The clock began ticking in August or September.

    Apologies for the rant. Check out the Wiki if you want to see what is (and is not) going on, and especially if you want to chime in on the process.

    • Wow, I was unaware of this wiki page! Great idea listing needed items.

      I have added this link to my list of bike stuff file, THANK YOU!