Deerfield Dundeed dalliance

What a gorgeous-looking bunch.

The Maple Wheelers met in Deerfield Wednesday night for a 25-mile loop to Dundee and back. The tailwind over the first half made for an easy, speedy ride. Fortunately, that wind died down a little bit before we began making our way back.

I took advantage of the tailwind and picked up some extra miles by riding to the start. I had planned on riding home also, but we got back to Deerfield well past 8p, and I wasn’t sure I could make it home before dark with the wind being what it was. So I wussed out and availed myself of one of the many vehicles heading in my general direction. Thanks again for the lift, John. And thanks to everyone else who offered.

For those who might be interested, there is a lurker among us, one shrouded in a cloak of anonymity, who, for a time, led a women-only ride, and she is eager to get it going again. Post a comment or join us for a club ride if you’d like to know more.

It was a night of, um, interesting conversation. I’ll say that much. I certainly enjoyed to getting to know some folks a little better. I love riding with these people. I’m so glad this group is around and that its members are willing to have me along (or at least to act as if such is the case).

Aw, shucks. Now I’m getting all verklempt.

Comments are closed.