go west, young man

Let’s hear it for the locals. Nineteen-year-olds Chris Hudson and Chris Holland are rolling out today from Lenawee County on a transcontinental bike ride to San Francisco. If you haven’t already seen it, here’s the write-up in the local paper. You can track (and properly envy) their journey on their Facebook page.

I can’t even begin to tell you how badly I want to give randonneuring a whirl.  It’s unlikely I’ll ever have the freedom, gumption, or wherewithal to trek across the entire U.S., but surely some slightly less ambitious excursions are not altogether out of the question. For now, it’s an item on my relatively short bucket list. Hopefully, it’s one I can cross off before too long … and more than once.

Meanwhile, the Wednesday night Maple Wheelers ride was based out of Morenci. I wasn’t able to participate, so I can’t post a route map. Thankfully, however, Bill posted the route on Map My Ride and sent me some pictures. Now, far be it from me to disparage anyone, but I don’t see much riding going on  in any of these pictures. It looks more like Team Huffy meets city utilities street crew. I’m just sayin’! You be the judge.

Apologies, gents. All in good fun. You know I’m just jealous because I couldn’t be there.

2 responses to “go west, young man

  1. Scott,
    I found the map on map my ride. We modified it slightly but only for a break from the wind. If anyone wants to do that loop, we noticed that Munson Hwy was closed from Lime Creek to Morenci rd. Take Ingle Hwy and then Morenci west to Munson. We definitely did some standing around last night, only because the wind was so fierce.