2010 Tour de Cure

This past Saturday, Team Hadrian (John, LuAnn, Linda, Jeanette, Jim, and I) rode in our first Tour de Cure in Brighton, MI. John and I rode the 75-mile route, LuAnn and Linda rode the 10-mile route, and Jeanette and Jim rode the 25-mile route.

Team Hadrian 2010 (230 combined miles)

We had a terrific time (notwithstanding the fact that Jon and I were up at 5a to make the 6a registration for a 6:30a departure!). I didn’t take nearly as many pictures as I had intended, but here are a few for those interested.

sleeping

forward-thinking hotel chains should provide bikes hooks in the guest rooms

staging (early birds for the longer routes)

75 miles to go

rolling out

13 (of many) reasons why I did it

The event was very well organized and a lot of fun to be part of. I raised $791, and our combined team total, by my calculation, was $2426. Not too shabby. I plan to participate again next year, and I hope we can increase both the size of our team and the amount of money we raise.

Meanwhile, it’s time to think locally. If you haven’t already done so, click here to register for the Hospice of Lenawee Run, Walk, & Bike Tour on Sunday, June 27. I’ll see you there!

One response to “2010 Tour de Cure

  1. bicyclegirl

    Congratulations! I assume this may have been a first-time charity ride for at least a rider or two. What a sense of accomplishment. 75 miles is no mean feat and you all raised alot of money for a worthwhile cause. Way to go!