upgrades and updates

At last, the semester is drawing to a close, and not a moment too soon. Even now, I should be grading the four-inch stack of papers sitting beside me and writing my final exams, but thoughts of velocipedic adventure make it difficult to focus on the tasks at hand.

Despite the lack of posts recently, a lot has been going on, and there’s more on the horizon. I’ll post the most time-sensitive updates first. Future posts will take up the bigger items in due course.

  • The voting was much closer than I would have anticipated, but the fender-and-rack folks won out. Hadrian on a Bicycle is now the proud owner of a bone fide logo. Dig it. BIG thanks to Ms. Alyssa Baker of Adrian College for designing it. If you’d like to learn about the artist and see more of her work, you can visit her online portfolio. Once the dust of the semester settles a bit, I’ll post an interview with Alyssa. Meanwhile, I’ll be visiting the print shop next week to order “Team Hadrian” t-shirts for Tour de Cure, PALM, and whatever else. Look for them to be available sometime around mid-May. Sorry to change up the layout of the site again after having done so less than six weeks ago. The previous layout just wasn’t working for me, so we’ll give this a shot. Alyssa has also designed a wicked cool t-shirt for the Adrian College Cycling Club (ACCC). I’ll share it as soon as the club has signed off.
  • Transportation cycling is still sufficiently novel in these parts as to be deemed newsworthy by the local daily. The Sunday edition (April 18) of the Telegram will feature an article on cycling in Adrian, with a particular focus on those who regularly commute by bike. I was interviewed for the article a number of weeks ago, and this past Wednesday a photographer came by to shoot some full-fledged action shots. I can hardly wait to see how things turn out. (Update: I made the front page of the Sunday edition, and above the fold no less. Wow. Click here to read the article online.)
  • Congratulations to John Lindenmayer, Associate Director of the League of Michigan Bicyclists, who won the April drawing for David Byrne’s Bicycle Diaries. Look for a picture featuring John, the book, and his bicycle in the days to come. You can see a picture of John simultaneously enjoying the book and his bicycle in the comments below.
  • On Thursday, April 22, Adrian Locksmith & Cyclery will be hosting a film night featuring the cult classic, “Breaking Away.” The outdoor event is free and open to the public, but attendees are urged, strongly and repeatedly, to ride their bicycles!
  • The Associated Charities ACDC ride slated for May 22 has been removed from their events calendar. I’m meeting with the folks at Associated Charities on April 28 to talk about getting the event back on the calendar (though perhaps pushed back to June 12). If I get the green light, I’ll be calling on everyone interested and available to help make the event a success. This, together with the Hospice Ride, could be a great opportunity for to support both local charities and cycling in Lenawee County.
  • Finally, after giving it a great deal of thought, I am taking preliminary steps to organize a campaign in support of getting a paved bike path connector between Mill Rd. and Island Park. Stay tuned for details and to learn more about how you can get involved.

OK, that’s all for now. See you on the road.

6 responses to “upgrades and updates

  1. Thanks Hadrian on a Bicycle for the book! This is awesome…I never win anything! Looking forward to reading David Byrne’s Bicycle Diaries. Here’s the photos I promised (don’t try this at home…reading while biking is considered distracted driving!):

    Twitter:
    http://twitpic.com/1g2pou

    Facebook:
    http://www.facebook.com/LeagueofMichiganBicyclists#!/photo.php?pid=4408292&id=98168440142

  2. Thanks, John! Great pic! Who knew you’d be such a hip-looking fellow. Once I read the words “Associate Director,” I naturally assumed there’d be a suit at the other end. Then again, I guess a world wherein bicycles are at the center is a very different thing indeed. Cheers!

  3. Gee thanks! You can’t even tell in the photo that I actually have dread locks past my waste. I do sport the suit on occasion though to testify on behalf of bicycling down at the Capitol…gotta make it about the issue and not the clothing, so from time time you have to sport the uniform of politics! Thanks again!

  4. My pleasure. And thank you for representing us and for everything else you and the LMB do on behalf of cycling in our state.

  5. I like the new look of the site and I am strongly in favor of the new logo. Love it! I’m looking forward to the rides.

  6. Very nice pic and article in today’s paper Scott. I also like the look of your new site and new logo.