Am I a Cycling Geek?

Just an informal poll among fellow cyclists:  what is your opinion of hydration packs?  I never thought twice about wearing one, until Bicycling magazine was poking fun of them.  Of all the so-called “disadvantages”, the only one I thought was valid was that your back won’t stay cool on a warm day wearing a Camelbak hydration pack. 

However, I want to defend my Camelbak.  I own high quality water bottles, but once the temperature hits over 75 degrees, the bottles cannot compare to the Camelbak.  The water stays much colder for many hours.

Please post your opinion!

6 responses to “Am I a Cycling Geek?

  1. OK, first of all, the question of whether you (or anyone of us) is a cycling geek is entirely distinct from the question of whether you should use a Camelback.

    I’ve never used a Camelback, nor have I had any inclination to do so, but I see some definite advantages to them. First, as you’ve already mentioned, they keep your water cooler for much longer than even insulated water bottles. Second, I suspect they are immensely helpful in ensuring that you stay better hydrated because they encourage you to drink more frequently.

    On the other hand, one possible advantage of using water bottles is that you are forced to get off the bike periodically in order to refill them.

  2. could you not freeze the camelbak or something, so it kept you cool and melted slowly into water?

  3. I have a camelback but only use it when on very long rides with questionable resources for refilling a bottle. There is absolutely a “dork” factor. When I ride my recumbent trike it’s a non-issue because I can hide it behind the seat.

  4. The one time Iused mine on a july ride, I filled it with Ice cubes then added water and it was great. Didn’t look chic! but worked great!

  5. I don’t know if I’d use one or not but my longest ride is about 30 or 40 miles and I would rather have warm water in a bottle than a pack. It seems to me it would be something that I’d have to wear and I don’t like wearing things when I ride (besides clothing!!) If there was a way to set it on a rack or something with a tube go for it.

  6. I also read this article in my cycling magazine and had the same thought as you. I typically use my hydration pack on rides 50 miles or more. I know I look like a dork, but I stay hydrated which gives me more energy. If I’m always reaching for my bottle, I tend to drink less. So what if no cyclists will wave to me as I’m taking a sip – they should just suck it.