celluloid ciclismo

Although I didn’t necessarily set out to do so, this weekend I immersed myself in cycling film. Over the course of the last 48 hours, I’ve watched “Breaking Away,” “American Flyers,” and about ninety or so minutes worth of clips on YouTube and Vimeo, covering everything from classic footage of Eddy Merckx racing the Giro d’Italia, to parodies of fixed gear bike culture, to beautifully choreographed and orchestrated cinematographic vignettes featuring the Rapha Continental team. The experience was quite soothing and its arrival timely.  I desperately needed the escape.

Alas, as is often the case with so-called escapes, it wasn’t much of an escape at all. But it got me through another couple days of winter, I guess. Maybe, with a little luck, the temperature will climb above thirty next weekend, and I will find a couple of hours in which to escape for real.

Comments are closed.