we’re official

On Fri, Jan 29, 2010 at 1:21 PM, K. F. wrote:

Professor,

I was just letting you know that today we became an official club on campus!! I am working on all the paperwork to get the ball rolling! Once I find out more I will be in touch and getting more organized.

With that, the Adrian College Cycling Club (ACCC) became a recognized student organization. We can’t wait to get started. We’ve already got a heap of ideas, and there’s quite  a bit of interest among the student population. A few of the items topping our list presently are as follows:

  • Organized group rides for riders at every level
  • Development and implementation of a campus bike-share program — If anyone as an old bike they might be willing to donate at some point, please let me know. I’m planning to offer my Schwinn Suburban.
  • Participation in fundraising events that support local charities — We were very much hoping to participate in the Associated Charities of Lenawee County ACDC ride, but this year’s event is slated for May 22, which is weeks after the semester ends. It’s difficult to find events that fall within the academic calendar. If anyone knows of something local, please tell me. Otherwise, we might need to organize something of our own. If anyone would like to make recommendations and/or be involved, you are more than welcome to do so.
  • Encouraging greater use of bicycles for transportation on and around campus

In addition to bikes for the bike-share program and any other bike-related stuff you can think of to contribute in order to help us get going (e.g., degreaser, grease, and lubricant to make those old bikes move more smoothly), the club is also in need of a logo to use on t-shirts and elsewhere. (It just so happens that I, too, am in search of a logo design for Hadrian on a Bicycle, largely in anticipation of getting some t-shirts made for anyone attending this year’s PALM from Lenawee County. A local rider and regular reader of this blog has generously donated a 50-percent-off coupon for a local printer. Consequently, you can all look forward to some dapper shirts for a lot less. Thanks, brother!) So, anyone who has an artistic inclination and is handy with design software, I’d love to hear from you.

One more thing. The ACCC has been trying to think of clever bike-related ways to raise money for club activities. We don’t need much, but some food at our meetings now and then, or the ability to off-set the costs of t-shirts or event fees might be nice. One idea that came to mind was to offer students rides to class one day using a rickshaw. Anyone know where we could get one?

Finally, I haven’t said anything about it for a week or so, but I’m still raising money for the American Diabetes Association. And along with that, I’m still actively looking for riders to join Team Hadrian for the Tour de Cure on Saturday, June 5. Thanks to the generosity and quick response of so many, I passed my goal within a week. But I’m not content to stop there. I have to help my team reach its goal. I’ve had only one person take me seriously on my appeal for one dollar. Can I get 99 more to make it 100? If you’re reading this, please consider donating one dollar. Then see if you can get at least one other person to do likewise. That’s a penny-a-mile. You’ve probably got that much hiding beneath your couch cushions.

Comments are closed.