rubber side up

I turned a bit too sharply this morning on slick pavement and found myself lying on the ground shortly thereafter. It was hilarious. It hurt. It lightly bruised my hip and the ball of my hand. I’d say it had a negative impact on my pride, but I have very little of that to begin with. (Have you seen what I look like in a bike helmet?) I got up, swung my leg back over the bike, gave a nod and a smile to the guy sitting at the intersection watching this beautiful drama unfold while he waited for the light to change, and rode on.

Silver lining: I think getting this out-of-the-way the second week of January ensures a safe, happy, and upright year ahead, right?

I hope everyone reading gets a good laugh out of this. It’s no reason not to ride in the winter, mind you. But be careful out there.

6 responses to “rubber side up

  1. Important detail omitted: how’s the bike? I would hate to see that green paint job scratched up.

  2. Ha ha. Yes, the most important question of all.

    From what I can tell, the bike’s OK, though it’s taking a bit of beating in general from commuting everyday in this weather (and on account of one small spat I had with it over its cranky rear wheel).

    It needs a very good cleaning, that’s for sure. And the saddle could use some healing salve and a little TLC.

  3. See that is why I am afraid to winter ride! i just went jogging on the Adrian trail, saw the snow and the bike tracks as I jogged along. I kept waiting to see the spin out of a bike tire, but I guess they are better riders then me. Glad you are ok.

  4. Ugh! I knew this post would dissuade you. For what it’s worth, some of those bike tracks on the trail are mine. See, no spin-outs!

  5. Really I debate often to head out on the bike. I also have a TrikkeT78 and have been dying to get that out too. January Thaw! then I will go for a spin.

  6. I ride a Raleigh Twenty in the winter. It has the 406 mm. wheels and so is lower to the ground and I can put a foot down quickly if needed. Last winter I rode the Raleigh Twenty with a coaster brake with the freewheel of course. This year I have it set up fixed gear and there is much more control. I only take it a mile to work and mile back unless I tour the neighbor hood. I can’t bear to take out my better bikes ($225 for fixie wheels for the Raleigh record with 630 mm tyres) so spend the winter on small bikes with the old sheepskin on the Terry saddle. The sheepskin makes a big difference. No need to use the old Brooks 72 which is about to tear at the nose rivets after 35 years. Thanks Eduard van Groningen