2009 yuletide ride route

Here’s the REVISED proposed route for our first annual yuletide ride on Wednesday. I am more than happy to hear suggestions for an alternate course. There wasn’t much rhyme or reason to my mapping. I think having a defined route beforehand is good. But if it turns out that only a handful of us show up, we can always wing it as we go.

View Interactive Map on MapMyRide.com

We’ll plan to roll out at 6p. The route is less than 6 miles, so we can take a nice easy ride and still be done well before 7p. We’ll end at Big Boy for coffee or whatever. From there, folks can go their own way. Parking is available in the lot across the street from the park at Michigan and Main. Parking is available in the public lot behind the library.

I sure hope folks will turn out for this. We’re going to have a great time, and anyone who owns a bike is welcome. “The more the merrier” is rarely more fitting.

10 responses to “2009 yuletide ride route

  1. Count me in, I’ll start spreading the word. The route looks good.

  2. Love the idea. I’ve added a link to this blog post to the “Around the Web” section on The Daily Telegram’s homepage, lenconnect.com. We could put something in the paper as well — if you’re interested, e-mail me at […] or give me a call at […].

  3. Julie McCullough Kim

    So exciting! Originally from Adrian, living in Oak Cliff (Dallas) TX, where they do weekly rides, and monthly themed rides, including the tweed ride, and yesterday the holiday ride, where they all dress up!
    Check out these great pictures!
    Bike Friendly Oak Cliff:
    http://bikefriendlyoc.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/dallas-tweed-ride-a-smashing-success/

    Good Luck with the Yuletide ride!

  4. Thanks for the comment and the links, Julie! These pictures are terrific. I’m really looking forward to our Yuletide Ride. I think it’s going to be great, and it will only get better with each passing year. I’ve pitched the Tweed Ride idea to a few folks, but the period dress is a hard sell. Ha ha.

    Bike culture is growing in Adrian. It’s pretty cool.

  5. Julie McCullough Kim

    Well I will be following this blog for sure! How fun and exciting for Adrian to have this group! Especially since I hear that it might be easier to get through the new streets of downtown on a bike vs. a car these days =) I used to ride my bike EVERYWHERE growing up!

  6. It does sound like fun….hope to join in too.

  7. I might need a seat warmer on my bike, but I’ll be there. Where does the ride start?

    • Ha! It’ll be great to have you along, but I’m afraid I don’t know what to suggest as far as a seat warmer is concerned. We’ll meet in the parking lot behind the city library downtown, and roll out at 6p.