EcoVelo Photo Contest

Wish me luck. I just entered my first photo contest on EcoVelo. My submission is below. Visit EcoVelo for the associated commentary.

Fuji Finis 005 reduced

I’ve never before entered a contest like this. I don’t suspect I have much chance of winning this bid, but I did it largely to give this bike some exposure. I have plans to submit it to the Old Ten Speed Gallery, too. I’m pretty pleased with how it’s turned out. But I have to say that I’m even more pleased with how it rides. I can’t describe it. It’s so plush. I absolutely love it.

I’m still in search of a suitable name.

I’m wicked sorry it’s been so long since my last post. My sincerest thanks to the handful of you who’ve hung around, as well as to any who return as signs of life begin to surface. I have a lot of things I’ve been wanting to post, but I’ve found even less time to write than I have to ride of late. I don’t know what I’d do without my daily commute. I only wish it were longer sometimes.

I’ll make every effort to get the blog spinning again. Really, I will. Just one small public service announcement in the interim: the local Kiwanis Trail is being resurfaced from Sutton Road north (I assume as far as Occidental Highway), and therefore is closed temporarily. I would be interested to know who’s behind it so we can make a point to convey our appreciation.

8 responses to “EcoVelo Photo Contest

  1. Great photo, gorgeous bike! looking forward to reading more about it.

  2. that is a great photo. i love how it looks in all the leaves. it almost looks like a part of the landscape, with its green frame and brown accents. will be a nice reminder of summer in, say, mid february.

  3. me again. wow…there are some really cool photos on that ecovelo site! especially love the tomatoes.

  4. Thanks, Trish and Meredith. I’m so pleased with how it turned out. It’s gets lots of comments on campus. It’s very rewarding to invest new life into something like this. The ball bearings in the headset and bottom bracket probably haven’t seen daylight since the bike left the factory floor.

  5. That’s a beautiful bicycle! And a well-positioned shot. What kind of bike is it?

    • Hey. Thanks, Mellow Velo. It’s a 1975 Fuji Special Tourer. I found it my local Salvation Army Thrift Shop for $29.99 (sans all the stylish accessories, of course). It’s my daily commuter, and I totally dig it.

  6. I have had the same bike for 32 years. My dad bought it off a guy for $80 in 1979 for me. I rode that everywhere until I started driving. I am starting to restore it. Where did you find the replacement cables and housing. I am also looking for wheel suggestions the rims are pretty good but the spokes have lost their shine. Most other parts are good. I used to take the bike apart to the bearings every winter and clean and grease for the next year. Shoot me an email if you get this. Thanks.

    • Sorry for taking so long to get your comment up on the site, Michael. I was out-of-town all of last week.

      My local bike shop provided the cables and housings. Initially, I went with some relatively cheep aluminum wheels from a different local bike shop. They were fine for the intended purposes of the bike. For some time now, however, I’ve been wanting to try my hand at building my own wheels on period-specific hubs.