radio silent

Apologies to anyone still frequenting this blog. Occasions to ride has been difficult to come by of late, and opportunity to post has been even more scarce. (This is why I really need some regular contributors — hint, hint.)

Just a few quick items of note:

  1. The Rails-to-Trails Conservancy newsletter reports that August 19 is National Soft Ice Cream Day. I recommend the weekly Wednesday night Kiwanis Trail riders plan on a stop at Frosty Boy in Tecumseh. What do you say? (I missed riding with you folks last night, by the way.)
  2. It’s still about five weeks off, but I don’t think it’s too early to begin urging people to ride their bicycles downtown for the Art-A-Licious Festival, September 18-19, in Adrian. I’ve been wanting for some time to see if I could organize a Ride Your Bike Downtown event. There’s no way to pull it off this year, but the Art-A-Licious Festival seems like a perfect opportunity for a test run. Whaddya’ say we, the two-wheeled (and in some cases three-wheeled) pedaletariat, make it a point to attend in velocipedic droves? Spread the word.
  3. Finally, freshman arrive at Adrian College on August 16, and at Siena Heights University on the 26th. Upperclassmen won’t be far behind. If you’re a student or know any students at either of these schools (especially at AC) who would like to to be part of a college cycling club, please get in touch with me.

*** UPDATE ***

I just received the following from Joe Mizereck, the guy behind the 3 Feet Please campaign:

Hello,

I need your help.

This morning, I was contacted by a major news network that is interested in doing a story on the 3 foot issue.  They have asked me to gather the names and contact info for a handful of cyclists who have been hit from behind and are able to talk about the experience.  If you are one of these cyclists or know of one of these cyclists, please contact me at joe@3feetplease.com or 1-800-761-0907.

Thank you,
Joe Mizereck

3 Feet Please, 916 Shadowlawn Dr., Tallahassee, FL, 32312 800-761-0907

PS: Incidentally, I was wearing my 3 Feet Please t-shirt a couple of weeks ago when the chowderhead in the grey van called me a “retard.”

3 responses to “radio silent

  1. How appropriate that National Soft Ice Cream Day falls on a Wednesday as does the Art-A-Licious Festival the same day. Maybe the Wednesday night riders should try to attend the Art-A-Licious as a group on our way to Frosty Boy in Tecumseh with a little earlier start; just a suggestion. We did miss you last night Scott, and we did not get ice cream due to sunset being a little earlier now.

  2. Oops, I was looking at the August calendar when I wrote the above about being the same day….well we could still go the Art-A-Licious and go to a local ice cream place afterward!

    • Any excuse for ice cream, right, LuAnn? I think yours is a great idea. Let’s do it.

      Meanwhile, rumor has it that you’re thinking about doing the Tour de Donut, and that you’re even trying to recruit others. Is that true?