my commute

Here it is, the photo-journal promised earlier. This one documents my commute, or at least today’s version of it. I’m still figuring out what my regular route will be.

my point of departure

My point of departure.

the infamous Main St./MI-52

The infamous Main St./MI-52...

more than enough room (and reason) for a bike lane

...with more than enough room (and reason) for a bike lane.

I pick up the bike path on Bent Oak...

I pick up the bike path on Bent Oak...

...and arrive, shortly thereafter, at beautiful Trestle Park.

...and arrive, shortly thereafter, at beautiful Trestle Park.

After Trestle Park, I come to Maple (option one).

After Trestle Park, I come to Maple (option one).

Maple is a good street, but I go with option two.

Maple is a good street, but I go with option two.

I get off the path at Maumee, wich is OK but not ideal.

I get off the path at Maumee, which is OK but not ideal.

From Maumee, I take Scott south, and then turn east on lovely College Ave.

From Maumee, I take Scott south, and then turn east onto lovely College Ave.

A few blocks later, campus comes into view. This is Downs Hall.

A few blocks later, campus comes into view. This is Downs Hall.

And this is Valade Hall, where I feign wisdom and presume to shape young minds.

And this is Valade Hall, where I feign wisdom and presume to shape young minds.

Adrian is a thoroughly and easily bike-able city. The landscape is enjoyable to ride and commends itself to cycling in terms of scenery,  terrain, traffic levels, and more. Those areas that are less-than-conducive to transportation cycling are neither impassable nor altogether hopeless. Many, if not all, of the obstacles they pose can be remedied without much trouble or money.

I’ve noticed a decent number of people on bikes around town and on the bike path. There’s reason to believe that there are plenty more out there, and that bicycling infrastructure and bike-friendly improvements can and will come to Adrian if we make a case for them. In the meantime, please make sure cars can see you. Use hand signals. Obey traffic laws. Ride the streets. When you’re on a bike, they’re yours to use, so take them. Bikes don’t belong on a sidewalk.

Comments are closed.