slow rides II

Yes, I really believe that any ride is a good ride. At the very least, it’s always better than no ride at all. But Friday afternoon was rough. I had more unpleasant and aggravating traffic encounters in one ride than I typically have in a week, and things were cut short due to a flat tire occasioned by a bit of busted glass.

side streets

side streets

Earlier in the week, I had promised the neighbor kids that I’d go for a few laps around the block with them. So I got a call from the youngest (eight years old, I think) at about 3:30pm indicating that they were home from school and ready to roll. After some long overdue bike maintenance and some digging about for helmets, we saddled up and were off.

life's a blur

life's a blur

We didn’t get far in the short time we had before Little League games and other Friday night engagements, but this spin around the neighborhood made up for all the grief of my earlier outing. Riding with locals is such fun.

Comments are closed.