wednesday’s nap ride

In the spirit of “What I Saw Riding My Bike Around Today,” which I think is a tremendously enjoyable blog on so many counts, here’s a little a photo journal of today’s nap ride (i.e., the 90-minute ride I take while everyone else in the house takes their midday siestas).

giving chase

giving chase

We begin with the shot everyone takes, but one I love nonetheless. The only thing it tells you about the ride is that the sun was out. Indeed, the weather today is positively brilliant. Not only was everything bathed in light, but the temperature was perfect, and the wind was fairly calm.

eastward

eastward

Since the first ride I took on this particular bike path, which happened also to be only the second ride I had taken on my bike after purchasing it late last summer, this has been one of my most favorite spots on the trail. You would not only have to see it to appreciate it fully, but you would have to ride it. There is a little knoll that crests just before you arrive here, and as you come over the top you quickly pick up speed and descend upon this overlook. An embankment descends sharply off to the path to the left, and local fisherfolk cast their lines lazily into the eddies.

new kit

new kit

I was having quite a good time experimenting with the camera and learning how to take photographs while riding. Here’ s a money shot of me sporting the new jersey I picked up at Sunday’s Rally Ride for the upcoming Young’s Ice Cream Charity Bike Tour. (Anyone out there want to join me on Saturday, July 25th?)

from the stretch

from the stretch

Just one of the many, many idyllic segments of this particular bike path that overwhelm travelers with a sublime sense of serenity. I’m not the only one to find it picturesque. In the final miles of Sunday’s ride, I turned this corner to find four or five mountain bikers pulled off to either side while one snapped a shot of another next to her bike with this view in the background.

wheel within a wheel

wheel within a wheel

I think this is my favorite shot of the day. It’s one that’s sure to find use elsewhere, as opportunity allows. So much of bicycling, it seems to me, no matter how or where you roll, is about perspective. I could go on and on about this photograph, but I’ll save my commentary for another time.

a taste of Roubaix

a taste of Roubaix

Finally, a look at the street where my rides begin and end. These bricks are beautiful from an aesthetic standpoint, but they’re a pain in the tuchas to ride over.

One response to “wednesday’s nap ride

  1. Very, very cool!