bike hookie

Today I played hookie from work and joined a club ride. The plan was for a relatively-short ride (roughly 30-miles) with an easy pace (say, 12-15mph). The mileage estimate turned out to be accurate enough, but apocalypse-like headwinds kept the pace in the single digits at times. We road to a very old, very small town, and had a spectacularly delicious lunch that was made and kindly served by German Baptists in a coffeehouse that has been continuously in business since the mid-19th century, when the John Smith Co. hung its shingle and opened the doors of its dry goods store.

I joined the local touring club in large part to meet fellow cyclists, and I’m pleased to say that I’ve been riding alongside a lot of cool folks. Case in point: today I rode with a woman, probably in her 60s, who, three years ago, logged her 100,000th mile with the club. Yes, you read that right: 100,000 miles, not counting rides that weren’t connected in some way with the club or rides that she’s taken since three years ago.

Since the ride was only going to be 30 miles, I decide to ride to and from the staging area. I thought that would add 22 miles, but it turned out to be an extra 28 miles. So, when all was said and done, I had 58.5 miles on the bike and felt terrific. The weekend is off to a great start.

3 responses to “bike hookie

  1. 10thousandfeet

    Howdy. My goal is to do the 50 mile option for Fatty’s ride. I figured I could watch movies and even eat popcorn on a trainer. It might be boring, but it won’t be hard. I’m kind of a sucker for a good cause and a cool T-shirt. 🙂

  2. Boring is the hardest part! But I’m with you on the unshakable allure of new t-shirts.

  3. Yipes, that’s a lot of riding in the wind. Good for you, though, means you can eat more ice cream 🙂