longest ride ever…

final-draftIt’s been nearly two weeks since my last post, and now, hoping I still have a reader or two out there somewhere, I’m back … with a long, deep sigh of relief. Here’s why:

Yesterday, I mailed the final drafts of my dissertation to my committee. I defend in about two-and-a-half weeks. After that, clean it up, make whatever revisions they request, and submit the final product by the first of May. I can’t believe it’s finished. Over. I’m done. Wow.

To celebrate, I…

+ rode my bike to FedEx;

+ went on a date with my wife for the first time in what seems like forever;

+ reintroduced myself to my children (turns out a new one showed up not too long ago);

+ bought beer;

+ began surfing craigslist and ebay in earnest for another bike project (I think I want to build-up a single-speed with drop bars on a stylish frame that’s worth powder-coating and then dressing exceptional well); and

bicycle-times+ picked up a copy of the first issue of a brand new magazine being published by Dirt Rag called Bicycle Times, which is devoted entirely to everyday cycling. How surprised I was to find this on the shelves at my local independent bookseller! (They actually carry quite a fine selection of bike mags, including a couple of “imports” from across the pond.) I’ve flipped through it quickly, but I’m resisting the urge to read it cover-to-cover until I board the plane for the return trip my defense.

This coming week, I’m riding my bicycle every single day. It’s been a long time coming, and I’m really excited about getting back to the road and to the blog.

As concerns the latter, I’ve been brainstorming a bit, in the wee hours of the night when I just didn’t have it me to type another word but I was too worked up to sleep. With a little luck, some of what came to mind will be taking shape in the coming months … you know, now that I have all this free time on my hands.

5 responses to “longest ride ever…

  1. Scott,
    Thanks for picking up a copy of Bicycle Tines and letting your readers know about it.

    I’m the Bicycle Tines and Dirt Rag Web Editor and invite you and your readers to visit BT website to sample the flavor of our new title.

    Ride on,
    Karl

  2. merricontrary

    happy! happy! joy! joy! imagine snoopy’s happy dance here.

    don’t you wish you’d worn your helmet for that whole, long ride?

  3. Yikes, a dissertation – that must be a lot of stress. Must feel great to be finished almost.

    I’m interested in this new cycling magazine. Anything different from Bicycling Magazine is exciting to me.

  4. The magazine looks really cool. It’s absolutely killing me not to read it, but I must stick with the plan. Sweet will be the reward. I’ll be sure to post a review within a day or two of returning from my defense. Though, by that point, I’m sure many of you will have already bought your own copy.

  5. Congrats on getting your dissertation in! Must be a huge load off!