sublime

xenia-ride-21709-004Finally, after too many days away from both my bicycle and my blog, a short and much-needed reprieve. The mercury reached the mid-50s yesterday, and I hit the bike paths for about three hours. It was wonderful. Forty-some miles later, I was both exhausted and refreshed. Isn’t it beautiful how a long bike ride can do that for you? I never sleep as deeply and as peacefully as I do on a night after taking a long ride, and I’m certain the reasons are not only physical.

deer-22509-003-reducedI was pretty happy about the opportunity to stop and snap a shot of the fine creature you see pictured here. But only few miles farther down the path, I rode up on a group of five or six. Unfortunately, they startled more quickly and made for cover before I could get my camera out.

Today, the temperature is likely to head even higher, but there’s rain in the forecast. I’m thinking I’ll ride anyway. It will be a great opportunity to run some errands to test the rain pants I bought for daily commuting.

6 responses to “sublime

  1. Yes, amazing how one can be so exhausted and so refreshed at the same time after a nice long ride. I really think therapists should recommend biking in certain cases. I know it’s a huge anxiety reliever for me, anyway.

    Nice to have found you over here, I lost you for a little bit after the blogspot craziness. Imagine my surprise to see your page had vanished! I’m glad it’s back though!

  2. Hey! Good to see you again, Mav. I’m glad you found your way over here.

    I think you’re on to something regarding therapists recommending a bike ride. They frequently recommend exercise. But how many folks already feeling crummy about this or that (or themselves) want to subject themselves to a gym, or have the motivation to exercise at home? Bike rides, I think, incline one naturally to ride again and to wander farther, not to mention the way they lift your head to see a bigger world around you.

  3. Sounds like a lovely ride. I need to get myself in shape for longer rides like that; think it would be a lot of fun!

  4. Trust me when I say that “in shape” are not the words most would use to describe my present condition! Building up to a ride like this doesn’t take much effort at all, especially if you’re not bent on doing it as fast as possible. It’s a really, really cool feeling, though, passing points on the trail where I’ve turned around to head home in the past and smiling to myself as I realize I’m going farther and seeing new things.

    You’re right to imagine that it will be fun if you do it. You’ll be amazed at how beautifully the time evaporates.

  5. “Bike rides, I think, incline one naturally to ride again and to wander farther, not to mention the way they lift your head to see a bigger world around you.”

    Yes, I believe bikes do give us the inclination to want to wander a little farther. I’ve often wondered though if this sort of pertains to the fact that our bicycles are our first step towards real freedom. Remember when you first really learned to ride, even if you were small and that bike had training wheels still? Just being allowed to travel by yourself a couple of driveways down the sidewalk and back was so liberating, so I think our connection to bicycles is a little more emotional than most people realize!

  6. I think you’re on to something regarding therapists recommending a bike ride. They frequently recommend exercise. But how many folks already feeling crummy about this or that (or themselves) want to subject themselves to a gym, or have the motivation to exercise at home? Bike rides, I think, incline one naturally to ride again and to wander farther, not to mention the way they lift your head to see a bigger world around you.

    most excellent point, really, about gyms and self image. i imagine riding to be something both solitary and communal, but not at all in the same way as, say, a treadmill. or a gym mirror with florescent lights.