respect

I have a new found respect for mountain bikers and cyclecross riders. I spent over an hour today cleaning my bike after having ridden it for a couple of hours through scattered patches of melting ice, snow, and slush. And after all that, I still see areas I missed.

To be sure, this undertaking was motivated in part by my own silly obsession with wanting my bike to look pretty. But it also has to do with proper maintenance, keeping everything in good running order for as long as possible. So it’s something that just has to be done, and all the more so after riding through nastiness. So hats off to those girls and boys that get their bikes cruddy on a regular basis, even on the nicest of days. Because they have to go through this cleaning ritual all the time. That’s just nuts.

2 responses to “respect

  1. Hi – I came across your blog – – I bike in all kinds of weather (like today – in the snow) (I live in the Washington, D.C. area). It’s not too much of a pain to clean off the bike parts when it gets wet/snowed on, etc. I mainly dry off the chain so it doesn’t rust, and the derailleur area. When I get home after my commute, I’ll use a degreaser to clean off the chain and lube it. Doesn’t take long. It’s a little dirty and yucky, but we gotta take care of our “kid(s)”. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ Charmaine

  2. the village scribe

    Hey Charmaine. Thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you found the blog.

    I think (hope) that when I’m riding to and from work everyday in Michigan, I’ll see things differently. It seems to be a mental thing, because for some reason I’m not as bothered by my commuting bike getting plastered with grime (or about cleaning at least the mechanical parts of it afterward) as I was about my road bike.

    When all is said and done, though, I’m with you: any time spent with the bike is good time, no matter whether it’s doing maintenance or riding.