pushing off … again

My original blog, “The Adrian Spokesman,” was hijacked and detained by Google spam-prevention robot fascists on 19 January 2009. Despite publishing original (if at times uninspired) content since September 2008, the blog was suddenly auto-flagged as a potential spam blog. I was completely locked out of the blog, and provided with no means whatsoever for contacting Google directly to plead my case. The “your blog is disabled” page that appeared every time I requested my access be restored repeatedly offered me this assurance: “Since you’re an actual person reading this, your blog is probably not a spam blog. Automated spam detection is inherently fuzzy, and we sincerely apologize for this false positive.” And I was told, ever so condescendingly, “On behalf of the robots, we apologize for locking your non-spam blog. Please be patient while we take a look at your blog and verify that it is not spam.”  I’m still waiting.

I’ve spent the last few days aggravated, outraged, and frustrated. (It’s funny, I think, and a little unsettling, to see myself so upset over something like this. I’m not entirely sure what to make of it. But reflections on that will have to wait until another time, and perhaps even an altogether different venue.) Finally, I decided to it was time to kick the dust off my cleats and ride on elsewhere. Enter WordPress and witness the arrival of “Hadrian on a Bicycle.”

It’s always tough starting over, no matter how small a thing is. I was just beginning to build a small readership, which I’ll now have go in search of again. But I’m excited. I’ve got better ideas about what it is I want to do here. Some of that clarity comes as a result of gaining an increasingly better sense of who I am as a cyclist.

Hopefully, Google will eventually see fit to release my former blog from exile, at which point I will import the majority of my previously-published posts and thus imbue them with new life. Meanwhile, lessons learned, I’ll compose my posts in a savable file.

So, without further ado, let’s consider the flat patched and get back on the bike.

3 responses to “pushing off … again

  1. Good to see you up and running again!

  2. the village scribe

    Many and sincere thanks, msdottie. It’s good to be back in the saddle.

  3. Wow, that’s crazy! We’ve had a great experience with WP so far; hope you will, too. Looking forward to more posts.