Staving Off Poundage

It’s December 27th, and I’m getting back on the wagon. I began riding bike, in part, to lose some weight. By riding and watching my diet, I worked my way down to 185lbs. (from about 215lbs.), but then I more or less plateaued. This is the same thing that happened last time I tried to lose weight, only then I wasn’t exercising; I lost the weight entirely through dieting. I’m sure part of the loss of momentum on this attempt was due to riding far less (and pretty much not at all, eventually) on account of much shorter days and a newborn. Regardless, in the space of five weeks (i.e., the time between Thanksgiving and Christmas), I’ve put five pounds back on, and I’m now weighing in at 190lbs.

So, I’ve mapped out a 6.5-mile loop near my house. (I was hoping for something a little longer, but this is the best route option I have for the time being.) Since it takes 30 minutes or less, my goal (my pledge) will be to ride it every day. In addition, or on days when I absolutely cannot get away for a ride, I will ride a stationary bike indoors for 20-30 minutes (or more, despite the fact that the boredom is sure to kill me before the pedaling does). On the other side of the diet-and-exercise equation, I’m back to counting calories and watching what I eat. Note: I’m not fanatical about this. I’ve found that the greatest benefits often come simply from being attentive to and intentional about what it is you’re eating and doing. In other words, eating should always be a conscious decision. So instead of buttered toast for breakfast, I had a glass of V8 and a couple of rice cakes. I have 10-15lbs. to lose, and I’m on my way. I’ll post my progress here periodically, mostly for the sake of keeping myself on track, but also in the hope that someone else out there trying to shed a pound or two will be encouraged to stay the course.

Comments are closed.