Community

Heidi Swift offers the following tips for riding in traffic:

Take to the streets: Contrary to what you might think, riding on the sidewalk is far more dangerous than riding in the streets….

Go with the flow: Always ride in the direction of traffic, no matter how tempting it might be to do otherwise….

Be a smooth mover: Riding in a straight, steady line makes it easier for motorists and others around you to predict your next move….

Beware of dangerous doors: Riding next to parked cars presents a unique danger — the thoughtlessly opened door….

Be kind to the big ones: Large vehicles such as trucks and buses often have big blind spots on the sides and back, which makes it harder to see you….

Take the lane: In certain cases, it’s actually safer to take the entire lane of travel (it’s also perfectly legal)….

Get bright but ride like you’re invisible: The more visible you are, the better….

Great advice. Her words of wisdom appeared in an article titled, “The road to kindness — it helps to wave.” While Heidi’s article deals primarily with cross-cultural communications between cyclists and motorists, the bit about waving extends to the cycling community itself, too, I think. I’m surprised by the number of riders I encounter on the local bike path who don’t wave. To be sure, the majority of people are quick to offer a friendly nod in your direction. But the ones who don’t are a mystery to me. If cycling wants to attract more supporters, it needs to be as welcoming as possible.

I used to drive a Jeep Wrangler. Everyone who drives a Jeep Wrangler learns right away that all drivers of Jeep Wranglers wave to all other drivers of Jeep Wranglers. (I no longer own a Jeep Wrangler.) The same code is in play among motorcyclists. (I sold my motorcycle so I could use the money for my bike and bike stuff.) I’ll confess, for any number of reasons (some conscious, others not so conscious, I’m sure), I liked the sense of community that came with my Wrangler and my motorcycle. The community dimension is also one of the reasons I’m drawn to cycling. I guess what I’m thinking is that if friendliness denoted by the simple gesture of a wave has the potential to be a key factor in bridging the distance between cyclists and drivers, then how much more is the cycling community itself strengthened by similar gestures among those who already ride? Cheers.

Comments are closed.